The National Indian Youth Council, Inc. is the second oldest national American Indian nonprofit in the United States, founded in Gallup, NM in 1961. As such, it has a 501(c) 3 tax exempt status under the federal tax code. Additionally, it is also a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) accredited to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.

NIYC currently has a seven-member board of directors, all of whom are Native American. NIYC Board Members represent a diverse group of professionals, government and foundation executives, public health and healthcare providers, business executives, and/or community leaders, who bring access and influence to NIYC while fostering its growth and development. As a national organization, NIYC strives to have a board of directors that is also representative of Indian Country, with members from different tribes and geographic areas across the United States.

Board President

Kyle Powys Whyte, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Philosophy & Community Sustainability
Michigan State

Board Vice-President

Lauren J. Bernally
Policy Analyst
Navajo Nation Human Rights Commission
Window Rock, Arizona
Board Treasurer

Vince Lujan, Esq.
Chief Executive Officer
Salt River Development Company
Scottsdale, Arizona
Board Secretary

Dr. Norbert S. Hill, Jr.
Area Manager
Oneida Education & Training Administration
Oneida, Wisconsin
Board Member

Robin Starr Minthorn, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Educational Leadership and Native American Studies
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Board Member

Mekko Miller, Esq.
Chief Judge
Pueblo de San Ildefonso
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Board Member

Ahniwake Rose, M.A.
Executive Director
National Indian Education Association
Washington, D.C.
Emeritus Board Member
(Akwesasne Mohawk)
Dr. Shirley Hill Witt